great hall side header 1200

Testimonials



Weddings

Photos by Mint Photography

“The Cedars Ranch is an incredible venue! After our original venue double booked our wedding weekend, Marilyn, Bill, and Brenda jumped into action to help us pull together a new plan for our big date with less than thirty days to go. It was one of the best decisions we made through the whole ordeal! Every step of the way, we were supported and what a gift it was to work with this wonderful crew of humans. There was space for each of our guests to wander around and explore the property. There were rooms for our over-stimulated children and family members to relax. Each walkway was a backdrop to beauty and the great hall hosted our celebration of 100 guests perfectly. Let this place take your breath away, as it did ours. You will cherish the experience for the rest of your life!” - Sara Kullberg (Wedding 11.2.19)

"Fantastic location, beautiful grounds, and the owners and staff are absolute angels. We couldn’t have dreamed of a better place to have our wedding!" - Shane Kullberg (Wedding 11.2.19)

"The first step in planning a wedding for us was to find a venue that represented who we are. The Cedars Ranch was under construction when we did the site visit, but we couldn’t get the venue out of our minds. 3 days later, we took the leap of faith on the vision we saw being built around us. Bill and Marilyn were so accommodating and open for anything, they made this journey very special. The venue is rustic, modern, wild, scenic, and unique. I couldn’t fit this place into one category, but I can say our day was a dream! From walking out of the woods with my father, to dancing under the stars surrounded by the people we love, I would relive our day over and over." - Blair & Andrew Doster (The Cedars Ranch First Wedding: 10.19.19!)

“I absolutely adore your venue! What an incredible spot.” - Sloan Breeden Photography

"Silver Thistle Weddings + Events has had the pleasure of consulting and being involved in the planning process of this property over the past few years. This unique venue is unlike any other in our area due to its sustainable core values. Watching The Cedars Ranch evolve has been invigorating due to the uniqueness of its architecture and wellness concept. Bill and Marilyn's vision of modernism that is organic and natural is such a refreshing vibe and one that our company thrives on. At STWE, we encourage our couples to find a venue that really suits their lifestyle and portrays their personality. We feel that The Cedars Ranch does just that and we are so excited to begin planning and coordinating events in this space!" - Kimberley Bentley, Silver Thistle Weddings + Events

"I cannot wait to capture a beautiful wedding here. The owners are amazing, and the location is spectacular. All of the details going into this venue are phenomenal. The trees and views are spectacular. Truly a place to see for yourself for a retreat, event or wedding." - Amy Gawlik, Al Gawlik Photography

"Gorgeous sustainable venue space and holistic healing and wellness center in beautiful Texas hill country. The couple Marilyn and Bill who own this place are the most genuine people I've ever met and have an intentional desire to build and nurture community. Highly recommend The Cedars Ranch for brides and grooms looking for a beautiful, eco friendly indoor/outdoor wedding venue, companies seeking a green meeting space or team building retreat, and individuals searching for the perfect nature getaway!" - Forest Soleil, The Green Planner

"Gorgeous venue. Can't wait to film a wedding at this amazing venue!" - Coleman Jennings, Coleman Jennings Videography



Yoga & Wellness Day

Photos by Billy Orr

"While I attended for the yoga and meditation, what I received was a beautiful experience with nature. All the wellness activities in the great hall were made extra special because of the unique structure of the building connecting you directly to the outdoors. Doing yoga asanas with a warm breeze on your face - magical!" - Yoga & Wellness Day attendee

“Thank you all so much for the wonderful day! Thank you, Marilyn and Bill, your space has an incredibly inviting and relaxing energy, which exudes off of both of you.” – Jenny Fairbank, Yoga & Meditation Teacher

"The Cedars Ranch is such a serene and beautiful setting for workshops and events. I've both attended and facilitated events there, and I always love opportunities to collaborate with Marilyn, Bill, and Brenda. They are wonderful, kind, genuine, and make it a joyful and professional experience." – Melinda Rothouse, Creativity & The Expressive Arts workshop leader

“It was wonderful. I really enjoyed teaching at The Cedars Ranch! The kindness Marilyn and Bill imbue the center with is warm and welcoming. What a wonderful setting to practice mindfulness in amidst the trees and fresh air. Your space is very healing” - Maraba Diraddo, Essential Oils workshop leader



WAGala Fundraiser Event

Photos by Jill Wedel

"Our event was fabulous from start to finish. Brenda was so easy to work with and her organization made it very simple for us to get our paperwork in order. The venue is great for vendors to set up, easy to access with large equipment, and everyone is so helpful! The entire evening went without a hitch and everyone LOVED the outdoor feel. It is Hill Country at it's best! Thanks Bill & Marilyn for a wonderful fundraising event, we couldn't be happier!" - Maeghen Strahm, WAG Event Coordinator

“The Cedars Ranch was the ideal Hill Country location for the 2019 WAGala. Beautifully designed buildings set in the heart of nature. The spaces were perfect for this event!” - Jane Little, WAGala Wimberley Sponsor

“It was a great evening. We are exceptionally pleased.” - Pat Davis, WAGala volunteer



The Living Room Conference

Photos by Forest Soleil & Sara Ness

“The space was absolutely magical, and also one of the best set up for the kind of event we're running that I've ever seen. Really gorgeous and well-designed.” – Sara Ness, The Living Room

“We chose The Cedars Ranch for its gentle yet wild beauty, and its combination of high-tech focus on environmental sustainability along with the low-tech soul-sustainability of integrating into the natural world. (Plus the owners are awesome!)” - Forest Soleil, Event Planner for The Living Room

"The Cedars Ranch was the best possible venue for our conference. Attendees loved the openness of the space, being near nature but with plenty of gorgeous buildings to gather in. I've held over 100 retreats and this was one of my favorite venues ever, both for the space design, beauty, and ease of working with Bill, Marilyn, and Brenda. 10/10!” – Sara Ness, The Living Room




Self-Compassion Event with Dr. Kristin Neff


Photos by Alyssa Duty, Duty Free Studios

"The Cedars Ranch exceeded my expectations. It’s a lovely eco friendly gem nestled in the heart of the Texas hill country." - Wellness Event Attendee

"I could feel the healing and revitalizing energy the moment I got to The Cedars Ranch. The workshop I attended was wonderful, but even without that, spending a day in that beautiful space healed my soul." - Self-Compassion Event Attendee

"This event was clearly well planned and intentional. I enjoyed feeling like everything I did had purpose. The energy created was engaging, yet calm, which is what I needed." - Self-Compassion Event Attendee

"Thank you for bringing the vision of wellness to a space that invites the calm and purpose." - Self-Compassion Event Attendee

"I had the unbelievable opportunity of attending a wellness event at The Cedars Ranch. Let me tell you, this experience was life changing! First of all, the modern great hall, where most of the activities occurred, is situated in a stunning nature setting, surrounded by trees, wildflowers, and relaxing areas to sit. I don't consider myself an outdoorsy person, but being in such a beautiful place, gave me a newfound appreciation for nature. I am still blown away by this magical space that the owners, Marilyn and Bill, envisioned. From the incredible speakers to the nourishing, delicious meals that were served, every minute of the event was meticulously designed and executed flawlessly. The Cedars Ranch exceeded all my expectations. From this experience, I was able to reflect on various aspects of my life, gain insightful perspective, and receive much needed healing. This was a day that I will never forget and I am eternally grateful for it! I hope every person in the world gets to experience The Cedars Ranch “heaven”!" - Self-Compassion Event Attendee

"The Cedars Ranch is a gorgeous, tranquil setting for your next celebration or wellness event. With easy access from Austin--it's a special getaway to renew and recharge." - Wellness Event Attendee

"Marilyn and Bill Orr are offering something very special with their beautiful, unique, and environmentally friendly venue." - Wellness Event Attendee



Photography Workshop

Photos by Mark Hemmings Photography

“Since 2004 in South Korea I have been leading photo workshops around the world in such locations as Japan, Mexico, Canada, Hungary, Romania, Greece, the Caribbean, and upcoming destinations of Jordan, Italy, and New Zealand. This was my first time organizing a photography workshop in the USA, and The Cedars Ranch was a perfect place to hold it. Full of natural beauty, it was easy to use the grounds as a teaching location. And my students loved the charming small-town aspects of Wimberley, plus the great eating options for dinner!" - Mark Hemmings, Photographer



Owners & Staff

"The Cedars Ranch is such a serene and beautiful setting for workshops and events. I've both attended and facilitated events there, and I always love opportunities to collaborate with Marilyn, Bill, and Brenda. They are wonderful, kind, genuine, and make it a joyful and professional experience." – Melinda Rothouse, Yoga & Wellness Day workshop leader and Fierce Self-Compassion event attendee

“Thank you!!! Our wedding was a dream and I’m so glad you and Bill were apart of it!” - Blair Doster, 10.19.19 wedding

"A truly beautiful gem of a venue in Wimberley. Owners and their team are gracious, warm, thoughtful and truly dedicated to a best-in-class experience. It feels good simply stepping foot on their property and the beautiful spaces are the icing on the cake!" - Wellness Event Attendee

"Lovely, relaxing venue with great owners and staff." - Wellness Event Attendee

"The Cedar Ranch is a perfect venue for those who wish to absorb themselves in nature and peace while engaging with whatever the presenting topic is. Marilyn and Bill are gracious, welcoming hosts." - Wellness Event Attendee

“We really appreciated Brenda's (operations manager) pre-event checklist so that we got our ducks in a row in a timely manner. Other venues have not offered that kind of detail in writing or you had to dig through a long contract to find it. It was helpful that it was a separate document.” - Pat Davis, WAGala volunteer

“All of you were easy and pleasant to work with” – Sara Ness, The Living Room

“Marilyn and her husband Bill came here to establish a Wellness Center and wow! They've got a beautiful venue going with large spaces for the big events, smaller spaces for meetings/trainings, and an incredible Yurt for weekend retreats and get-aways and more. It's all eco-friendly from floor to ceiling and all across the grounds. The Space invites being in nature and absorbing inspiration.” - LaDonna Coy



Luxury Eco Yurt

Photos by Mark Hemmings Photography

"I stayed at this amazing wedding/retreat venue for a week, in an incredibly appointed and beautiful yurt. Marilyn and Bill Orr became instant friends, you know the kind, long lost soul friends. I cannot say enough about their eco-friendly retreat center nor their vision for a better world. If you’re looking for an event center in the gorgeous Hill Country is Texas... check them out!" - Charlene Taylor

“The yurt was amazing!! We had such a wonderful experience staying there and were surprised with thoughtful touches throughout the place. It was so peaceful and relaxing throughout the whole property. We can't wait to come back and stay again and again and again....thank you so much for sharing your beautiful space!!!” - Melissa, Yurt Guest (October 2019)

“Wow, this is a once in a lifetime experience. Intimate, clean, beautiful, fun space to fulfill your every need/want. Whether we were chilling while getting ready for the night listening to music or sitting outside drinking a brew, the environment is just perfect for an all around stress free fun time with your partner/friends. If you are looking for a an all around amazing stay, this is the place to book. Marilyn and Bill are not only super communicative, but the yurt has almost any amenity/utensil you would need to have a stress free stay. Honestly, this review does not do justice for the yurt and the ambiance of it embedded within nature. I will be going back every year and I cannot wait! Book now, before someone beats you to it.” - Holli, Yurt Guest (September 2019)

"We had a lovely stay in the Eco Yurt at The Cedars Ranch. It was exactly what we needed, peaceful and relaxing. Marilyn was so helpful ensuring we had everything we needed. The Yurt was spotless, cozy, and thoughtfully decorated. We were close to Wimberley and Blanco with a quick drive to everything but the Yurt had everything you could need. We enjoyed staying in, drinking coffee and listening to birds on the deck. The hospitality and small touches really make this place unique. We would definitely come back and recommend to others!" - Erika, Yurt Guest (July 2019)

“Place was fabulous! So well done and comfortable but still the beautiful sounds of wildlife could be heard outside. Highly recommend!” - Tracy, Yurt Guest (June 2019)

"This place was great from beginning to end. Communication was excellent and the Yurt was amazing. My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this to anyone considering a trip to the area. A+" - Nick, Yurt Guest (April 2019)

"Relaxing, peaceful stay. Beautiful location." - Heidi, Yurt Guest (November 2018)

"I can't recommend Marilyn & Bill's yurt enough! You NEED to stay here! The space is incredible and our experience was unforgettable! The yurt had everything we could possibly need from toiletries to a stocked fridge, blankets, towels, a sewing kit, shoe shine! You name it, they had it! The outdoor bar space was perfect for sipping my morning tea and watching the hummingbirds drink from the nearby feeder. We lit a fire one night in the fire pit and enjoyed the sounds of nature as the sun set. We also saw a young buck on the property several times as we made our way in and out of the ranch. The ranch is a 15 minute drive to Jacob's Well, Wimberley Square, 7A Ranch, or the Blanco River - all amazing destinations for a perfect weekend getaway! I can't forget to mention that we accidentally locked ourselves out of the yurt (city girl's mistake!) but Marilyn was amazing and super responsive and helpful with suggestions on how to try to get back in (she was out of town at the time). Our first glamping trip was a huge success and exceeded our expectations all thanks to Marilyn and Bill's place. Thank you again to Marilyn for her responsiveness and kindness! We are already planning on returning as soon as we can!" - Erika, Yurt Guest (September 2018)

"The eco-yurt was really lovely - the pictures didn't do it justice! Marilyn greeted us with cookies, low-carb muffins (after asking about dietary restrictions), and a bottle of wine. The place was comfortable even in the scorching Texas summer, and we enjoyed several meals out on the deck watching the hummingbirds and other wildlife. We would highly recommend this experience to anyone!" - Brennan, Yurt Guest (July 2018)

"This spacious yurt has everything you could want for a relaxing weekend. Great coffee, comfy king-size bed with luxurious bedding, quiet setting among beautiful oak trees, birds singing as you sit on the deck, fresh peaches, blackberries and flowers from the garden are just a few of the amenities. The attention to eco-friendly building materials and decor was also done with superb taste. My family of four loved the proximity to Wimberley and Blanco. The hosts provided us with homemade cookies and local wine." - Shanie, Yurt Guest (June 2018)